89.4 F
New York
Tuesday, June 25, 2024

** New Yorkled Magazine **

Location

Lena Horne Bandshell
Prospect Park, Brooklyn

Aug 24 2023
Expired!

Celebrate Brooklyn! 2023 Performance Schedule

NYC Celebrate Brooklyn! is a free outdoor performing arts festival that has been running since 1979 in Prospect Park. It is one of the city’s most popular summer events, attracting hundreds of thousands of people every year. The festival is organized by BRIC, a Brooklyn-based art and media organization, in collaboration with the Prospect Park Alliance. The festival features a wide variety of artists, from world-renowned musicians to emerging indie bands, as well as dance, theater, film and more. The 2023 edition of the festival will have more than 30 performances from June 7 to August 24. Some of the highlights include Taj Mahal and Corinne Bailey Rae on opening night, NxWorries (Anderson .Paak & Knxwledge) in a benefit concert, JOE and Stokely in a Juneteenth UNITYFEST, Antonio Sánchez performing a live drum score for the Birdman film screening, and The Head And The Heart on closing night.

June 7 Updated: Opening Night Cancelled due to the Canadian Wildfire Effect on NYC’s Air Quality:

“”Due to the unprecedented air quality situation in New York, we’ve made the difficult decision to cancel BRIC Celebrate Brooklyn!’s Opening Night: Taj Mahal | Corinne Bailey Rae | The Harlem Gospel Travelers. The health of our staff and the communities we serve is the number one priority for BRIC and we can’t, in good conscience, risk the wellbeing of our friends and neighbors who may have high risk health issues.””

========

FOLLOW BRIC ON SOCIAL MEDIA:

Instagram: @BRICCelebrateBK
Twitter: @BRICCelebrateBK
Facebook: @BRICCelebrateBK
YouTube: BRIC Celebrate Brooklyn!

Click on each corresponding link to learn more about that particular show/performance.

Most of these items will take place at:

Lena Horne Bandshell with Prospect Park
9th Street & Prospect Park West
BrooklynNY 11215

Schedule:

Opening Night: Taj Mahal | Corinne Bailey Rae | The Harlem Gospel Travelers

Wednesday, June 7
Doors: 6pm / Show: 7pm

 

Family Day: Soul Science Lab | Olivia K and The Parkers

Saturday, June 10
Doors: 3:00 pm / Show: 4:00 pm

 

Jake Wesley Rogers | Kara Jackson | Bright Light Bright Light

Thursday, June 15
Doors: 6:00 pm / Show 7:00 pm

 

Juneteenth UNITYFEST 2023

Saturday, June 17
Doors: 6:30 pm / Show: 7:30 pm

 

Antonio Sanchez: Birdman Live | Takuya Kuroda

Friday, June 23
Doors: 6:00 pm / Show: 7:00 pm

 

Benefit Concert: NxWorries (Anderson .Paak & Knxwledge) | Robert Glasper with Lalah Hathaway & Bilal | BJ The Chicago Kid

Saturday, June 24
Doors: 5:00 pm / Show: 5:45 pm

 

BRIC Celebrate Brooklyn! at Highland Park

Sunday, June 25
Doors: 3:00 pm / Show: 4:00 pm 

 

Ibrahim Maalouf | Hermanos Gutiérrez | Little Moon

Saturday,  July 1
Doors: 6:00 pm / Show: 7:00 pm

 

Kelela | Liv.e

Saturday, July 8
Doors: 6:30 pm / Show: 7:30 pm

 

Rennie Harris | Decora

Thursday, July 13
Doors: 6:00 pm / Show: 7:00 pm

 

Oumou Sangare | Vox Sambou

Friday, July 14
Doors: 6:30 pm / Show: 7:30 pm

 

Marcia Griffiths | Brown Rice Family | Dj Miss Hap Selam

Saturday, July 15
Doors: 7:00 pm / Show: 8:00 pm

 

The Chelsea Symphony feat. Lady Jess | Lucrecia Dalt

Friday, July 21
Doors: 6:30 pm / Show: 7:30 pm

 

Ali Sethi | Raja Kumari | Roshni Samlal

Saturday, July 22
Doors: 6:00 pm / Show: 7:00 pm

 

The Wallflowers | treya lam

Thursday, July 27
Doors: 6:30 pm / Show: 7:30 pm

 

Rickie Lee Jones | Thornetta Davis | Chris Pierce

Saturday, July 29
Doors: 6:00 pm / Show: 7:00 pm

 

Jorge Drexler | Cimafunk | Julieta Rada

Thursday, August 3
Doors: 6:00 pm / Show: 7:00 pm

 

Indigo De Souza | Vundabar

Friday, August 4
Doors: 6:30 pm / Show: 7:30 pm

 

Benefit Concert: The Revivalists and Band of Horses

Thursday, August 10
Doors: 6:00 pm / Show: 7:00 pm

 

BRIC Hip-Hop 50th Anniversary Weekend

Friday, August 11 and Sat Aug,12
Doors: 6:00 pm / Show: 7:00 pm

 

iLe | Divino Niño | Sara Curruchich

Friday, August 18
Doors: 6:00 pm / Show: 7:00 pm

 

John Cale | Tomberlin

Saturday, August 19
Doors: 6:30 pm / Show: 7:30 pm

 

Benefit Concert: Alex G and Alvvays

Tuesday, August 22
Doors: 6:00 pm / Show: 7:00 pm

 

Benefit Concert: Alex G and Alvvays

Wednesday, August 23
Doors: 6:00 pm / Show: 7:00 pm

 

Closing Night: The Head And The Heart | Izzy Heltai

Thursday, August 24
Doors: 7:00 pm / Show: 8:00 pm

 

The event is finished.